Chopin's 24 Preludes, Op. 28, are a set of short pieces for the piano, one in each of the twenty-four keys, originally published in 1839.


Chopin's 24 Preludes, Op. 28, are a set of short pieces for the piano, one in each of the twenty-four keys, originally published in 1839.

Chopin wrote them between 1835 and 1839, partly at Valldemossa, Majorca, where he spent the winter of 1838–39 and where he had fled with George Sand and her children to escape the damp Paris weather. In Majorca, Chopin had a copy of Bach's The Well-Tempered Clavier, and as in each of Bach's two sets of preludes and fugues, his Op. 28 set comprises a complete cycle of the major and minor keys, albeit with a different ordering.

The manuscript, which Chopin carefully prepared for publication, carries a dedication to the German pianist and composer Joseph Christoph Kessler. The French edition was dedicated to the piano-maker and publisher Camille Pleyel, who had commissioned the work for 2,000 francs (equivalent to nearly $30,000 in present day). The German edition[which?] was dedicated to Kessler, who ten years earlier had dedicated his own set of 24 Preludes, Op. 31, to Chopin.

Whereas the term "prelude" had hitherto been used to describe an introductory piece, Chopin's pieces stand as self-contained units, each conveying a specific idea or emotion. He thus imparted new meaning to a genre title that at the time was often associated with improvisatory "preluding".[n 1] In publishing the 24 preludes together as a single opus, comprising miniatures that could either be used to introduce other music or as self-standing works, Chopin challenged contemporary attitudes regarding the worth of small musical forms.

Whereas Bach had arranged his collection of 48 preludes and fugues according to keys separated by rising semitones, Chopin's chosen key sequence is a circle of fifths, with each major key being followed by its relative minor, and so on (i.e. C major, A minor, G major, E minor, etc.). Since this sequence of related keys is much closer to common harmonic practice, it is thought that Chopin might have conceived the cycle as a single performance entity for continuous recital. An opposing view is that the set was never intended for continuous performance, and that the individual preludes were indeed conceived as possible introductions for other works.

Chopin himself never played more than four of the preludes at any single public performance. Nowadays, the complete set of Op. 28 preludes has become repertory fare, and many concert pianists have recorded the entire set, beginning with Alfred Cortot in 1926.

As with his other works, Chopin did not himself attach names or descriptions to any of the Op. 28 preludes, in contrast to many of Robert Schumann's and Franz Liszt's pieces.

24 preludes:

  1. Agitato in C major, C.166
  2. Lento in A minor, C.167
  3. Vivace in G major, C.168
  4. Largo in E minor, C.169
  5. Molto allegro in D major, C.170
  6. Lento assai in B minor, C.171
  7. Andantino in A major, C.172
  8. Molto agitato in F minor, C.173
  9. Largo in E major, C.174
  10. Molto allegro in C minor, C.175
  11. Vivace in B major, C.176
  12. Presto in G minor, C.177
  13. Lento in F major, C.178
  14. Allegro in E minor, C.179
  15. Sostenuto in D major, C.180 'Raindrop'
  16. Presto con fuoco in B minor, C.181
  17. Allegretto in A major, C.182
  18. Molto allegro in F minor, C.183
  19. Vivace in E major, C.184
  20. Largo in C minor, C.185
  21. Cantabile in B major, C.186
  22. Molto agitato in G minor, C.187
  23. Moderato in F major, C.188
  24. Allegro appassionato in D minor, C.189
肖邦 - 24首前奏曲 Op.28
Composer: Chopin 1838-1839
Opus/Catalogue Number:Op.28
Duration: 0:35:00 ( Average )
Genre :Prelude


Update Time:2020-02-24 22:02