Echoes of Time and the River (Echoes II) is an orchestral suite by the American composer George Crumb. The piece was awarded the 1968 Pulitzer Prize for Music.


Echoes of Time and the River (Echoes II) is an orchestral suite by the American composer George Crumb. It was commissioned by the University of Chicago to commemorate the university's 75th anniversary. The piece was first performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra conducted by Irwin Hoffman at the University of Chicago's Mandel Hall on May 26, 1967. The piece was awarded the 1968 Pulitzer Prize for Music.


Echoes of Time and the River has a duration of approximately 18 minutes and is cast in four movements:

  1. Frozen Time
  2. Remembrance of Time
  3. Collapse of Time
  4. Last Echoes of Time


The work is scored for a large orchestra consisting of three flutes (doubling piccolo), three clarinets (doubling E-flat clarinet), three horns, three trumpets, three trombones, timpani, six percussionists, two pianos (doubling celesta), mandolin, harp, and strings.

克拉姆 - 时间与河流的回声
Composer: Crumb 1967
Duration: 0:18:00 ( Average )
Genre :For Orchestra / Suite


Update Time:2019-12-16 13:08